# COUNCIL

Wednesday, 18th May, 2022 Time of Commencement: 7.00 pm

View the agenda here

Watch the meeting here

Present: Mayor - Mr Kenneth Owen (Chair)

Councillors: Adcock Gorton Richards
Allport David Grocott Skelding

Barker Gill Heesom Mike Stubbs
Beeston Mark Holland Stephen Sweeney

Bettley-Smith Hutchison Simon Tagg **Brockie** Trevor Johnson John Tagg Bryan Dave Jones Jill Waring Paul Waring Brown Jones Gillian Burnett Annabel Lawley Gary White Sue Moffat Simon White Crisp Ian Wilkes Sylvia Dymond Paul Northcott Edginton-Plunkett Gillian Williams

Edginton-Plunkett Barry Panter Gillian William Andrew Fear Andrew Parker John Williams Andrew Fox-Hewitt Reece Ruth Wright

Apologies: Councillor(s) Talbot and Whieldon

Officers: David Adams Executive Director of

Sustainable Development and

Operations

Geoff Durham Mayor's Secretary / Member

Support Officer

Martin Hamilton Chief Executive

Daniel Dickinson Head of Legal & Governance

/Monitoring Officer

Denise French Democratic Services Team

Leader

Sarah Wilkes Head of Finance / S151 Officer

Also in attendance:

# 1. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors' Talbot and Whieldon.

## 2. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There were no declarations of interest stated.

## 3. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

#### Council - 18/05/22

**Resolved:** That the minutes of the meeting held on 6 April, 2022 be

agreed as a correct record.

## 4. ELECTION OF MAYOR 2022/23

One nomination was received:

Councillor Gillian Burnett. Proposed by Councillor Simon Tagg and seconded by Councillor Stephen Sweeney.

**Resolved:** That Councillor Gillian Burnett be appointed as Mayor for the 2022/23

Municipal Year.

The Mayor Made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Watch the proceedings here

## 5. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR 2022/23

Two nominations were received:

Councillor Simon White. Proposed by Councillor Simon Tagg and seconded by Councillor Stephen Sweeney.

Councillor John Williams. Proposed by Councillor Dave Jones and seconded by Councillor Andrew Fox-Hewitt.

A vote was taken.

Resolved: That Councillor Simon White be appointed as Deputy Mayor for the

2022/23 Municipal Year.

The Deputy Mayor Made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Watch the proceedings here

## 6. MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS

The following appointments were made:

Consort: David Faulkner Chris Faulkner Chaplain: David Faulkner Chris Faulkner Rev. Iain Baker

Mace Bearers: Jenny Otter and Alderman Chris Malkin

Mayor's Cadet: Sqt Katie Shaw

Watch the proceedings here

## 7. MAYORAL ADDRESS

The Mayor thanked members for electing her and stated that she was honoured to be appointed to the role which she would carry out to the best of her ability. The Mayor looked forward to attending many engagements throughout her year in Office.

The Mayor named her chosen charities as the Tri-Services Retreat at Mow Cop and Homestart Newcastle.

Members were advised that the Mayor's next Civic engagement would be her Civic Service in June.

Watch the proceedings here

#### 8. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

On behalf of the Council, Councillor Simon Tagg expressed gratitude and appreciation to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress. Over eighty engagements had been carried out, which was fewer than normal due to the Coronavirus and raised over £4000 for his chosen charities.

The Leader thanked Ken and Rachel for the work that they had done and wished them all the best for the future.

Watch the proceedings here

# 9. RESPONSE OF THE RETIRING MAYOR AND SUMMARY OF THE MAYORAL YEAR

The retiring Mayor stated that it had been a privilege to serve as Mayor for the last twelve months. Thanks were given to the Council for their support, his Mayoress, Rev Josh Penduck, and his support staff.

Watch the proceedings here

## 10. **ELECTION RESULTS**

Members were asked to receive a report detailing the results from the elections held earlier this month.

**Resolved:** That the information be received.

Watch the debate here

### 11. APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor Sweeney and seconded by Councillor Holland that Councillor Simon Tagg be appointed as Leader of the Council.

**Resolved:** That Councillor Simon Tagg be appointed as Leader of the

Council.

Watch the proceedings here

#### 12. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER AND CABINET

The Leader confirmed Councillor Sweeney as Deputy Leader and the following as members of the Cabinet for 2022/23:

Councillor Gill Heesom
Councillor Trevor Johnson

#### Council - 18/05/22

Councillor Andy Fear Councillor Jill Waring Councillor Stephen Sweeney Councillor Simon Tagg

Watch the proceedings here

# 13. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES, CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS FOR 2022/23

# **Committee Membership**

It was proposed by Councillor S Tagg and seconded by Councillor Sweeney that the appointments to committees, for 2022/23 be as set out in the Agenda.

**Resolved:** That the appointments to committees, as set out in the

agenda, be approved.

## **Chairs and Vice-Chairs**

Councillor Holland proposed (seconded by Councillor Simon Tagg) that the two groups take their nominations en-bloc and have a single vote. The Labour Group Leader had no objections.

**Resolved:** That the following Chair and Vice-Chair appointments be approved:

COMMITTEE	CHAIR	VICE-CHAIR
Audit and Standards	Paul Waring	Barry Panter
Conservation Advisory	Barry Panter	Trevor Johnson
Licensing and Public Protection	Andrew Parker	Joan Whieldon
Planning	Paul Northcott	Nick Crisp
Health, Wellbeing and Environment	Ian Wilkes	Rupert Adcock
Scrutiny		
Economy and Place Scrutiny	Gary White	David Hutchison
Finance, Assets and Performance	Mark Holland	Amy Bryan
Scrutiny		

## Watch the debate here

## 14. EXTERNAL ROLES AND APPOINTMENTS

The List of Representatives onto Outside Bodies was considered. Where more than one nomination was received a vote was taken.

Aspire Board - Councillor Northcott

Staffordshire Police and Crime Panel and - Councillor Heesom

associated panels

Waste and Mineral Site Liaison Committee - Councillor Adcock

Knutton Quarry Councillor Talbot

Waste and Mineral Site Liaison Committee - Councillor Simon White

Keele (Madeley Heath)

Councillor Gary White

Waste and Mineral Site Liaison Committee - Walleys Landfill Site (vote required for Silverdale ward)

Councillor Adcock

Resolved:

That the list of Representatives onto Outside Bodies, as set out in the Supplementary agenda and those Members listed above following a vote having been taken, be agreed and the Members appointed accordingly.

## Watch the debate here

## 15. CONFIRMATION OF THE CONSTITUTION

The Leader introduced a report asking Members to adopt the constitution.

The Leader stated that this was a new constitution. A cross-party sub-committee had met and it had been agreed to put forward the constitution to be adopted. In addition, it was recommended that the Monitoring Officer, in consultation with the Portfolio Holder, be given delegated authority to authorise any necessary amendments to the constitution.

Resolved:

- (i) That the Constitution be adopted.
- (ii) That, in consultation with the Portfolio Holder, the Monitoring Officer be given delegated authority to amend the constitution as necessary following annual council to attend to matters of layout, formatting, typographical errors and clarity in advance of publication.

## Watch the debate here

# 16. STANDING ORDER 18 - URGENT BUSINESS

There was no urgent business.

## 17. DISCLOSURE OF EXEMPT INFORMATION

There were no confidential items

Mayor - Mr Kenneth Owen Chair

Mayor – Cllr Gill Burnett Chair

Meeting concluded at 7.54 pm